Wexford lost to Laois in the last round in Portlaoise on a scoreline of 1-13 to 1-8. Laois are everybody’s favourites to get promoted so the Wexford performance was a good one away from home. At home they will be very difficult to beat. Wexford consider themselves to be a Division 3 team.

Wexford v Leitrim is never easy. It is seven years (2016) since Leitrim last played Wexford in Wexford.

Leitrim v Wexford 20th March 2022- Final Score -Leitrim 3-9 Wexford 1-11.

The last few meetings between both counties have been ding dong affairs. Last year in Carrick on Shannon substitute Conor Cullen fired to the visitor’s net just before the death. A goal by Darragh Rooney  in the first  half put Leitrim in the driving seat and they lead by 1 –04 to O-04 at the break. Leitrim maintained a slight edge in the early second half proceedings but Wexford levelled twice and edged ahead with points by Byrne and Shanley. However, a 48th minute Ryan O’Rourke goal for Leitrim and Cullen’s goal near the end gave Leitrim a bigger win than looked likely to happen for long periods in the game.

Due to covid in 2021 Wexford and Leitrim did not play each other as Leitrim played in a group of Antrim Sligo and Louth, and in 2020 Leitrim played in Division 3 and they did not meet.

In 2019 Leitrim beat Wexford in Carrick on Shannon by 3-15 to 0-11 and got promoted under Terry Hyland’s management.

In 2018 it was Wexford’s turn to play in Division 3 and we did not play each other.

In 2017 Wexford beat Leitrim in Carrick on Shannon on a scoreline of 0-16 to 0-14 and Wexford got promoted that year.

It is seven years ago (2016) since Wexford had home advantage against Leitrim and Wexford came out on top on a scoreline of 0-14 to 1-10 against a Shane Ward managed Leitrim team. The sides were deadlocked as the game entered the closing minutes, but Donal Shanley (Wexford) pointed a controversial game-winning free in additional time.

The Leitrim team listed in the match programme was  – Brendan Flynn, Mathew Murphy, Niall Woods, Michael McWeeney, Killian McGrisken, Barry Prior, Shane Quinn, Donal Wrynn, Darren Sweeney, Nevin O Donnell, Emlyn Mulligan, Kevin Conlan, Ciaran Gilheaney, Adrian Croal, Brian Mulvey. Leitrim scorers, S Quinn (1-01), N O’Donnell (0-03), C Gaffney (0-02), E Mulligan (0-02), A Croal (0-01), K Conlan (0-01)

Four  players from 2016 are still on the Leitrim panel, Donal Wrynn, Shane Quinn, Nevin O Donnell and Emlyn Mulligan. In  the 2016  game Nevin O Donnell scored 0-03 , Nevin is sub goalie on the current panel and Shane Quinn scored 1-01 from the left half back position.

Since 2016 Leitrim have played Wexford four times ( 2016,2017,2019 and 2022) winning two and losing two. Who will win next Sunday, that is the question?.

It won’t be easy and will be close but with a bit of luck on our side we will bring home a victory.

Eamonn Duignan