Leitrim U21 A Final

Oughteragh Gaels 2 ? 14
Glencar/Manor 1 ? 6

Oughteragh Gaels comfortably retained their Leitrim U21 A title when defeating Glencar/Manor by eleven points in Drumshanbo on Saturday.

The Leitrim U21 ?A? final was a game of two halves with Glencar/Manor staying in contention with Oughteragh Gaels in the first thirty minutes but then disappearing off the radar in the second period.

The Aughnasheelin/Sean O?Heslin?s combination side, Oughteragh Gaels claimed a 1 ? 5 to 0 ? 2 lead in the first thirteen minutes.

In this spell Cathal Egan opened with a Gaels? goal and Wayne McKeon converted two frees while Vincent Mulvey and Anton Arandelovic added a point apiece.

Glencar/Manor?s Adrian Croal and Ronan McGourty responded with a point each.

However Glencar/Manor staged a fight back and turned the tables on Oughteragh Gaels by the nineteenth minute, to claim a one-point lead.

The all important Glencar/Manor revival scores were delivered by Alan Hickey, a goal, Ronan McGourty, two points and Gary Hickey, a point.

But Oughteragh Gaels got back on level terms and regained a 1 ? 6 to 1 ? 5 lead by the interval after Shane Murphy and Anton Arandelovic shot a point each.

Points were exchanged by Oughteragh Gaels? Wayne McKeon and Glencar/Manor?s Anthony McDonald in opening five minutes of the second half.

After that Glencar/Manor?s challenge collapsed and Oughteragh Gaels pulled well clear thanks to a goal and two points from Ronan O?Rourke while Finian Sharpley, Cathal Egan, Wayne McKeon, Liam Ferguson and Anton Arandelovic added a point each.

Oughteragh Gaels: Joe Murphy, Kevin Prior, Wayne Gilgunn, David Duignan, Wayne McKeon 0 ? 4, Barry McWeeney, Liam Ferguson 0 ? 1, Anton Arandelovic 0 ? 3, Fergal McManus, Ronan O?Rourke 1 ? 2, Cathal Egan 1 ? 1, Gavin Sammon, Shane Murphy 0 ? 1, Finian Sharpley 0 ? 1, Vincent Mulvey 0 ? 1. Subs DamienÓgilheaney for Prior (22 mins.), Philip Murphy for Sammon (60 mins.), Naoise Hayden for Sharpley (60 mins.).

Glencar/Manor: Mark Ryan, Shane Kerrigan, David Poniard, Shane Loughlin, Stephen O?Hara, Adrian O?Flynn, Gerry Hickey, Alan Hickey 1 ? 0, Darren Sweeney, Gary Hickey 0 ? 1, Ronan McGourty 0 ? 3, Padraig Kerrigan, Adrian Croal 0 ? 1, Anthony McDonald 0 ? 1, Colin Ryan. Subs Patrick Maguire for Sweeney (38 mins.), Paul Clancy for P. Kerrigan (42 mins.), Sean Watters for Gary Hickey (62 mins.).

Referee: Kieran Moran (Mohill).



19-Nov-06 by PJ Leddy