Leitrim Ladies Notes

Annual Convention:
The Ladies annual convention was held on Sunday last in the Bush Hotel in Carrick. The meeting was very well attended with only Aughawillan, Leitrim Gaels,
tions as a number of motions were put forward by the Executive to formalise current practice including the adoption of an updated Club and County Handbook to assist all clubs in the application of rules and the running of competitions. There will be a change in registration fees to the county board with a ?2 per player charge instead of the ?25 per team charge previously in place. In competition a Shield in Division 2 for the bottom placed four teams will be played in 2007. The League Structure for 2007 was confirmed as follows:

Division 1: Aughawillan, Cloone, Mohill & Kiltubrid.

Division 2: Annaduff, Bornacoola, Ballinaglera, Glencar/Manor, St Josephs, St Marys and Dromahair

Division 3: Fenagh, Gortletteragh, Aughnasheelin, Aughawillan, Glenfarne Kilty and Sean O?Heslins (All Divisions to be played single round basis.)

The following Officers were elected for 2007:
Chairperson: Geraldine Creamer (Ballinaglera),

Vice Chairperson: Padraig Kelly (Kiltubrid)

Secretary: Kieran Moran (Mohill)

Treasurer: Orla Bohan (Bornacoola)

Asst Treasurer: Breege Brady (St Josephs)

PRO: Patricia Bohan (Bornacoola)

Registrar: Emer Horan (Kiltubrid)

Development Officer: Sinead Quinn (Aughawillan)

Culture and Language Officer: Maeve Quinn

Childrens Officer: NoeleenÓgeoghegan (Leitrim Gaels)

Central Council Delegates:
Clarie Quinn (Mohill),
Mary Shanley (Annaduff)

Congress Delegates:
Mary Shanley (Annaduff)
Clare Quinn (Mohill)

Connacht Council Delegates:
Geraldine Creamer (Ballinaglera)
Kieran Moran (Mohill)
Mary Bohan (Aughnasheelin),
Deirdre O?Hagan (Glencar/Manorhamilton)

Connacht Convention Delegates:
Geraldine Creamer (Ballinaglera)
Kieran Moran (Mohill)

Award Winners:
Congratulations to the Player of the Year Award winners for 2006:

County Player? Mairead Stenson (Mohill),

Senior Club Player ? Annette Donnelly (Cloone),

Intermediate Club Player ? Aisling Cooke (St. Josephs)

Junior Club Player ? Sinead McLoughlin (Fenagh),

Special Award for Services to Leitrim Ladies Football ? Deirdre Quinn (Aughawillan).
After 30 years, Deirdre finally hung up her boots on a glittering career with Aughawillan ladies when she captained her team to the League title in November. Deirdre was a founding members of Ladies football in the county in the late 1970s and a member of the County Board Executive serving as Chairperson from 1981 to 1983. Her county career with Leitrim ended only a short number of years ago and during her time collected numerous Connacht titles in addition to an All Ireland Junior Championship title in 1988. One of the highlights of her career was playing in the All Ireland Senior Final in 1984 against Kerry – where an error in the scoreline deprived Leitrim of the ultimate title. She received national recognition of her ability when she received All Star Awards in 1981 and 1983. Deirdre has collected numerous Senior League and Championship titles with Aughawillan and has two Connacht Club Championship titles and also played in the All Ireland Junior Club Final in 1998. She is a currently a member of the National Executive and will continue her work with ladies football as a member of the Calry St. Josephs club in Sligo where she resides.

The awards will be presented in conjunction with the Connacht Championship and All Ireland Runners Up medals to the Leitrim team at the Annual GAA Awards function in the Bush Hotel in Carrick on Saturday 20th January.

County Training:
After a well deserved break, county training will commence again on Friday 19th January. Manager Jason Taniane will again lead the team in 2007 with Helen Ward as selector and another selector yet to be appointed.



08-Jan-07 by Patricia Bohan – PRO