Connacht Junior Final – Summary

Kevin Higgins scored a goal three minutes from end of extra-time to secure the Connacht junior football championship title for Roscommon at Pearse Stadium yesterday.

Roscommon seemed poised for victory in normal time but Leitrim corner-forward James Holohan steered over a superb equaliser as the game went into stoppage time.

ScórERS — Roscommon: K Higgins 1-2; D Moran 0-5 (3f), C McHugh 1-1, B Mullen 0-2. Leitrim: D ODonnell 0-4 (2f), J Holohan, D Gilhooley (2f) N Doonan 0-2 each, P McGowan, R Cox, C Prior 0-1 each.

Roscommon — M Miley; R Brady, R Cox, D Flynn; N Carty, J Nolan, C Garvey; M Killilea, M Reynolds; K Higgins, B Mullen, J McKeague; F Cregg, D Moran, C



19-May-08 by Irish