FBD League – Rd 3 – Sligo v Leitrim

Michael Duignans last-minute 45 gave Leitrim a one-point win over Sligo in an absorbing tie played under lights at Tourlestrane.

The result was of little consequence to the competitions overall outcome but this game, which was postponed last Sunday, had an exciting finish.

Leitrim could have goaled in the last minute when James Glancys goal-bound rasper was pushed out by Sligo goalkeeper Jason Farrell. Glancys follow-up was kept out by Patrick Naughton at the expense of a 45 that Duignan pointed for the winner.

The main highlights of the second-half which neither side completely dominated were the goals. Colm Clarkes decisive effort that put Leitrim 1-6 to 0-6 ahead five minutes into the second-half and Sligos goal, a flicked finish from Benny OReilly five minutes later, followed a clever move and Sean Daveys assist.

The first-half was initially tit-for-tat and the scores were level on three occasions, with the pick of Leitrims early points coming from Ray Cox and RonanÓgallagher.

Eamon OHaras deft left-foot point tied matters at four points each in the 27th minute and scores from Adrian Marren and John Scanlon — Marrens score a crisp finish to Sligos best move — left Sligo 0-6 to 0-4 up at the break.

scorers — Leitrim: C Clarke 1-0, R Cox (1f), J Glancy (3f) 0-3 each, R Gallagher 0-2, M Duignan 0-1 (45). Sligo: B OReilly 1-1, K Raymond, A Marren (1f) 0-2 each, D McTernan (f), Eamon OHara, John Scanlon 0-1 each.

Leitrim — P Farrelly; L Ferguson, J McKeon, D Flynn; D Beck, B Prior, J McGuinness; S Foley, R Gallagher; C Clarke, P McGuinness, D Duignan; R Cox, J Glancy, B Gallagher. Subs: D Sweeney for S Foley, M Duignan for J McGuinness, M McGuinness for L Ferguson, P McGowan for D Duignan, S Canning for B Gallagher, D ODonnell for P McGuinness.

Sligo — J Farrell; J Martyn, B Phillips, B Collins; M McNamara, P Naughton, P McGovern; T Taylor, T Colleary; D McTernan, E OHara, J Scanlon; B OReilly, K Raymond, A Marren. Subs : S Davey for T Colleary, E Mullen for T Taylor, C Harrison for B Collins, G Gaughan for E OHara, E McHugh for J Scanlon, B Kivlehan for E Mullen.



24-Jan-09 by Irish Independant.ie