Minor A Final St Marys-Kiltoghert v St Francis

In front of a large crowd of supporters in Pairc Sean St Marys-Kiltoghert added the minor A championship title to the league title they won earlier this year. In a very entertaining game St Francis opened the Scóring with a converted free by Daniel Egan in the first minute, five minutes later St Marys Colm OReilly opened Carricks account with a pointed free. In the 12th minute Egan put St Francis ahead again with a point from play which was quickly followed by a pointed free by OReilly. At this stage there was nothing between the teams. Egan scored another point from a free in the 21st minute and in the 24th minute Conor Farrell replied with a well executed point from play. Two more converted frees by Colm OReilly in the 26th and 27th minute saw St Marys take the lead but this was quickly banished when a well taken shot by St Francis Tomas Mulvey ended up in the carrick net. Now in injury time in the first half St Marys continued to win the midfield battle and scored 2 more points from play from Colm OReilly and Conor Farrell sending the teams in at half time on a scoreline of 0-7 to 1-03 in favour of St Marys. After the resumption points were exchanged at both ends but disaster struck 3 minutes in when a goalmouth error saw St Francis concede an ownÓgoal when the ball deflected off Tomas Mulvey and ended up in the net. St Francis quickly responded with a point from play by Martin Beirne. In the next 10 minutes it was all St Marys with 3 more points courtesy of Colm OReilly. 1 from play and 2 frees, but the never say die attitude of St Francis saw them get 2 more points in the 44th and 46th minute by Daniel Egan , 1 from play and 1 free. In a very intence game both sides continued to battle cheered on by their respective supporters with OReilly converting a free in the 48th minute while in injury time Joseph ORourke added his name to the Scóring list further extending the St Marys lead with a well taken point from play. Another converted free by Daniel Egan in the 63rd minute ended this contest and jubilliant scenes followed the final whistle as St Marys celebrated a well deserved victory .
Man of the match was Colm OReilly who notched up no less than 0-10 of St Marys scores and to whom we extend our sincere congratulations.
Teams; St Marys-Kiltoghert.
Brendan Flynn, John Mc Dermott, Micheal Mc Weeney (C), Conal Maguire, Dáire Farrell, Ronan Kennedy, Jack De Lacy, John Healy, Conor Mc Weeney, Ciaran Mc Carthy, Conor Farrell (0-2), Peter Kenny, Colm OReilly (0-10), James Flynn, Joseph ORourke (0-1), Subs; Glynn Fitzgerald, Tomas Clancy, Christopher Garvey, Conor Forde, Patrick Mc Goldrick, Gareth Flynn, Villijs Mendiz, Sean Rynn. Management ; Noel Crossan, Pat Glancy and Joe Flynn jnr.
St Francis;
Ryan Higgins, Adrian Sorohan, Mark Gunning, James Mc Dowell, Shane Beirne, Tomas Mulvey (1-0), (1-0 og), Barry Gilmartin, Dylan Mc Gowan, Martin Beirne (0-1), Nathan Flynn, Daniel Egan (0-7), Brian Beirne, Conor Tiernan, Nicholas Moore, Jonathon Mc Gourty. Subs; Donal Logan, Patrick Mc Grail for Flynn (44mins), Shane Mc Loughlin, Daire Gunning, Diarmaid Mc Kieran for Moore (49mins), Padraig Gallagher, Gerard Clarke, John Crawford, Fergal Mc Morrow, Ciaran Mattynnsens. Management ; Tommy Mulvey, Noel Moran and Seamus Mc Morrow.



03-Oct-10 by Barbara – PRO – Coiste na nÓg