Under 16 9 a side Championship Final Glenfarne-Kilty v Aughnasheelin

Under 16 9-a-side Championship Final

Aughnasheelin 4-5 Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher 2-8

Aughnasheelin edged out Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher in a thrilling finish to claim the U-16 9-a-side championship title in Ballingleara on Sunday morning last. It was the Aughnasheelin teams whirlwind start to the game when they scored four goals in the opening fifteen minutes which ultimately decided this contest. Despite a brave second half comeback the North Leitrim side left themselves with too big a deficit to make up and Aughnasheelin held on to take the title in an action packed last period.

AughnasheelinÓgot the best possible start to the match when a well worked move saw Jack McGirl in behind the Glenfarne/Kilty defence and he finished the ball to the net. Almost straight from the kickout the lead was doubled as a long ball found Niall Mulvanerty in behind the defence and he sent his shot past the Glenfarne/Kilty keeper. The next five minutes saw both sides miss chances. Glenfarne/Kilty could easily have been level but two good goal chances were not taken. On nine minutes another long ball found Jack McGirl in behind the Glenfarne/Kilty defence and he drove the ball past Cathal McSharry to put his side into a nine point lead. Glenfarne/Kilty finally opened their account a minute later when Darren Murray pointed from play. Two minutes later Tommie McManus got the North Leitrim lads second score when he hit a point from play. The mini Glenfarne/Kilty revival was halted a minute later when after a well worked passing move Keith Sammon finished the ball to the net as Aughnasheelin looked like they might run away with the game. However this was to be their last score of the half and three unanswered Glenfarne/Kilty points over the next five minutes gave the north Leitrim side hope for the second half. First Brian Fox scored from play on nineteen minutes. This was followed a minute later by a Tommie McManus point from play. Darren Murray finished the first half Scóring when he pointed a free to leave the half time score four goals to five points in favour of Aughnasheelin.

The second half opened with Niall Mulvanerty pointing from play to further increase Aughnasheelins advantage. Glenfarne/Kilty then had a great chance to get back into the game but Tommie McManuss goal bound effort was saved by David McWeeney in the AughnasheelinÓgoal. Darren Murray gave the North Leitrim lads a lifeline on nine minutes when he finished emphatically to the net following a well worked passing move. Aughnasheelin responded immediately with a Niall Mulvanerty free. Cathal McSharry then kept the North Leitrim lads hopes alive on ten minutes when he did well to push a dipping shot around the post. Niall Mulvanerty then increased the Aughnasheelin lead further with a point from play to leave seven points between the teams midway through the second half. A point from play by Ronan McGovern on thirteen minutes and one a minute later from Tommie McManus cut the gap to five as Glenfarne/Kilty grew in confidence. Kevin McWeeney then hit a wonderful free over the bar from out on the wing but this was cancelled out a minute later by a Robbie Broughton point from play to leave five points between the teams with three minutes left. A minute later a grandstand finish was guaranteed as a surging run from Tommie McManus ended with him driving the ball to the Aughnasheelin net to leave two between the teams. A point from a free by Niall Mulvanerty a minute later steadied Aughnasheelin nerves. For the final two minutes Glenfarne/Kilty laid siege to the AughnasheelinÓgoal but were unable to get the score required to force extra time. A Darren Murray point from play cut the gap to two again with time almost up. However the North Leitrim men ran out of time and Gareth Foleys full time whistle was the que for Aughnasheelin to celebrate.

Aughnasheelin: David McWeeney, Patrick Cull, Philip Dolan, Ryan Cull, Keith Sammon (1-0), Kevin McWeeney (0-1), Jack McGirl (2-0), David Gallagher, Niall Mulvanerty (2-4). Subs: Brendan McCafferey, Matthew Flynn, Morgan Mooney, Fintan Fitzpatrick, Patrick Sammon.

Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher: Cathal McSharry, Brian Fox (0-1), Cian Rock, Niall McManus, Robert Broughton (0-1), Ronan McGovern, Tommy McManus (1-3), Darren Murray (1-3), Conor Keaney. Subs: Alan McSharry for Niall McManus.





04-Oct-10 by Barbara – PRO – Coiste na nÓg