Eslins Connacht Journey ends

Parke from Mayo were crowned Connacht Club Junior Champions on Sunday last in McHale Park when they overcame the challenge of a brave Eslin side. The Mayo Champions laid the foundations for their first provincial honours when they built up an impressive 13-point lead in the first half with the aid of a strong wind. Eslin did put their shoulder to the wheel in the 2nd half and were rewarded with two second half goals and it certainly looked as if they were going to mount a serious challenge. However, the more experienced Parke side were able to keep the Leitrim champions at bay with late points to secure victory. Coiste Chontae Liatroma take this opportunity to congratulate Eslin on a wonderful year and the experience of reaching the Connacht Final should definately stand to them in the future. Eslin scorers: R Reynolds 1-1, C Beirne 0-4 (0-2f), E Turbitt 1-0, C Duignan 0-2 (0-1f), P Kilcrann, B Higgins 0-1 each Eslin Team: E Higgins, G Egan, T Beirne, C Turbitt, D Stenson, S Beirne, P McNulty, B Higgins, C Duignan, B Bohan, P Kilcrann, P Reynolds, E Stenson, C Beirne, D Reynolds. Subs: B McLoughlin for D Reynolds, C Reynolds for P McNulty, D Reynolds for Kilcrann, E Turbitt for E Stenson.



09-Nov-10 by Colette Fox – PRO