Gortletteragh GAA Club Notes 11/09/2018

Senior Championship – The lads ensured their place in the Quarter Finals with a win over Drumreilly on Saturday evening. We take on St Mary’s on Sunday at 1.30 in Ballinamore in the knockout stages.

U17 – Rinn Gaels faced Melvin Gaels in Pairc Sean last Saturday morning in the Minor 13 a side Final. We played a good first half but with all our hard work we went in at halftime only a point up. We started the second half with two points to leave it 07-04, they say goals win games and Melvin Gaels struck for their first of two goals in a five-minute purple patch. We struggled to control the running of Melvin Gaels and got it hard to break their defence, in fairness to our lads they never gave up. With five minutes to go, we trailed by five points but the battling spirit of these boys kept fighting and got two points to leave a goal in it. With only 3 minutes of injury time announced which probably could have been 5 or 6 minutes with all the stoppages in the second half. However, we piled on the pressure and very unlucky not to get a goal to level it only for a great save by the keeper and a follow-up shot coming off the post too. Credit has to go to the coaches Mark Duignan and Kevin Mallon and all the players for their hard work all year and only losing out by a kick of a ball. The team lined out as Sean O’Riordan, Tom Reel, Kieran Reen, Oisin Niblock, Ciarán McGlynn, Odhran Heslin, James Cunningham, Shane Mallon, Brendan Davis, Shane Reynolds, Ryan Cunningham, Jamie Quinn, Ciarán Reynolds, subs used James Doyle, Nathan Ward, Conor Niblock, Cian McNulty

U15 – We played our first championship game against Fenagh last Monday in Fenagh. The final score was 4-15 to 3-09. Our next game is away St Joseph’s Friday evening.

U11 – We played Mohill in a blitz last Saturday morning. We had a great morning’s work out. It’s great to see these boys and girls showing great potential and showing off the skills they have acquired. The team on the day was: Aaron Keighran, Sarah and Fionn O’Leary, Tara Davis, Andrew Bohan, Ultán McNulty, Brian Liu Doyle, Donnacha Colreavy, Ryan Egan, Patrick Gormley, Tadhg Crowe, Matthew Carlton.