Allen Gaels GAA Club Notes 28/11/2018

U-16 Ladies – The girls finished off the year with a fine win in the Shield Final against Keeldra Gaels in Leitrim Village on Sunday afternoon on a scoreline of 6-09 to 1-07. We done to the whole panel and to trainers Ciara McTigue, Sinead Dolan & Dermot McDonagh. A big thank you to Stephen McWeeney who organised food for everyone afterwards in the clubhouse.

AGM – The AGM took place in the clubhouse on Sunday evening last with a good crowd in attendance. Chairman Patrick McManus presided over the meeting and gave an overview of the year in his address. He complimented the successful teams along with their managers in particular the senior men who won the Division 2 title and St. Francis ladies who won the intermediate championship and thanked everyone who helped out all year especially coaches and parents & those who helped out with raising finance and supporting the lotto & other sources of income. Secretary, Sinead Dolan, gave a comprehensive report of the club’s activities in 2018 and thanked all those who contributed to the efficient running of the club. John McKeon, presented a very comprehensive & detailed financial report. He thanked all who helped fundraise during the year, especially our sponsors. Tributes were paid from the floor to the 3 main officers for their work on behalf of the club in the last year. Chairman of Park Development, Fergal McPartland, reported on activities in park during the year and thanked a large number of people who assisted during the season. He thanked Eamonn McGowan in particular for his dedication to the park. He also thanked John Joe Cullen & Sean Deeley for their great work. He expressed the club’s appreciation to the organising committee of the Tony McGowan Run who are sponsoring the installation of a new electronic scoreboard at the park which will be a great addition.  The election of officers then took place.  The following officers were returned for 2019 –Chairman Patrick McManus; Vice-chairman Stephen McWeeney; Secretary Sinead Dolan; Asst-Secretary Padraig Kenny; Treasurer John McKeon; Asst- Treasurer John Moran; PRO Declan Lynch; Registrar Neil Nolan; Insurance Officer: Alan Wynne; Safety Officer: Noel Beirne; Health & Wellbeing Officer: Aidan Heron; Co. Board Delegates: Paschal Mooney, Eamonn McGowan; Park Chairman Fergal McPartland; Coaching Officer: Padraig Kenny; IT Officer: Declan Lynch; Cultural Officer: Laura Kenny; Children’s Officer: Paul Martin; ASAP Officer: Noel Heron; Finance Committee: Sean Wynne, John McKeon, Enda McGloin, Noel Beirne, Richard Flynn, Gareth Smith, Paddy McManus. After it was confirmed that Sean Pierson and his management team had stepped down, a committee was formed to seek a new manager. Tributes were paid to Sean, Paddy & Angus who put in a huge amount of work and oversaw a successful year returning silverware for the first time in a number of years. All underage managers will be confirmed at the Coiste na nOg AGM. We wish all officers and team officials every success in the year ahead.

Underage Presentation & Awards – The Kevin Keane Annual Player of the Year Awards & medals to last year’s winning teams were presented in the Mayflower last Saturday. Medals were presented to the U-12 boys, U-13 boys and U-14 girls so well done to all the winning teams. The award winners were: U12 Girls Player of the year: Andrea Gilmartin & Most Improved Player:  Erin McCawley; U-12 Boys Player of the Year: James Rock; U13 Boys Player of the year:  Fionn Gilrane & Most Improved Player:  James O’Connor; U14 Girls Player of the year:  Roslyn Kane & Most Improved Player:  Rachel McCormack; U15 Boys Player of the Year:  Radek Oberwan & Most Improved Player:  Rory O’Donnell; U16 Girls Player of the year:  Jaclyna Ozdobinska & Most Improved:  Rachel McGarry; U17 Boys Player of the Year: Colin Moran & Most Improved:  Enda Keegan; U-18 Ladies Player: Niamh Morahan and Most Improved: Lauryn McKeon. We would especially like to thank Pauric Keane, Ailish Cornyn, Diarmuid McKiernan and James Flynn for doing the presentations. A big thank you also to the Keane Family and to everyone who helped out on Saturday, in particular the Coiste na nOg committee under chairman Stephen McWeeney and secretary Angus Fee and to all our underage coaches who give their time throughout the year. Also to the parents of the children who help out with transport among other things all year. Finally we would like to thank all the local businesses who have supported our underage  teams with sponsorship during the year. Finally many thanks once again to Willie Donnellan for his time on Saturday.

St. Francis Ladies – The ladies will receive their intermediate championship medals in the Landmark this Saturday December 1st with a great night guaranteed.

Lotto – There was no winner of the lotto jackpot & the numbers drawn were 01-03-18-23. The 5 prize winners of €20 each were: Mary Sweeney, Cootehall; Noelle Burke, Creenagh; Debra Keaney, Aughacashel; Noel McPartland, Drumshanbo & Bea Cullen, Drumshanbo. The jackpot now stands at €4,100.

Church Gate Collection – The club’s annual collection takes place this weekend.

Sympathy – The Club extends deepest condolences to the Dolan Family on the very sad passing of Mary Dolan who was laid to rest in Arigna last week; also to the Mulvey Family on the sad passing of Phyllis’ brother, Brian Duignan, who was laid to rest in Hillstreet and to the Orawiec Family on the death of Kazimiera Orawiec in Poland recently.