Leitrim U16s qualified for the Fr. Manning Cup semi-finals in some style with a comprehensive victory over a hitherto unbeaten Longford outfit. Aided by a number of returning U17 county players, Leitrim roared into action, blitzing Longford in the first quarter as they scored 2-6 without reply.
Leitrim attacked Longford from the throw-in and early points inside the first 3 minutes from Ruairi O’Rourke and Senan Bohan were quickly followed by goals from Gavin Gallagher and Kyle Russell within the following 3 minutes.  Leitrim then added 4 more points through Senan Bohan, Ruairi O’Rourke(2) and Sean Carolan Morris to round out the first quarter. Longford got their opening score of the game on 25 minutes and this was sandwiched between 4 further Leitrim scores from Sean Carolan Morris(a 45), Ruairi O’Rourke, Jack Kelly and Senan Bohan. This left the half-time score Leirim 2-10 and Longford 0-1.
Leitrim introduced a number of subs in the 2nd half but there was to be no comeback for Longford. Again Leitrim opened the half in whirlwind fashion adding 2-5 inside the first 15 minutes with 2 solitary replies from Longford. The Leitrim points came from Joey McBrien, Jack Kelly(2) and Ruairi O’Rourke(2) with Senan Bohan and Ruairi O’Rourke adding the goals. The final quarter proved to be Longford’s most productive as they added 1-6 to their tally. But not to be outdone Leitrim rounded off their scoring with a further 2-3 of their own with goals from Joey McBrien and Ruairi O’Rourke. Jack Kelly, Oisin Conlon and Ruairi O’Rourke added the last points of Leitrim’s total for an impressive win.
Leitrim will be buoyed by the fact that their squad has shown great depth in topping the group, at times playing games without a number of their U17 players. They will also realise that there will be tougher games ahead but the focus, for now, turns to preparing for a Fr. Manning Cup semi-final.
LEITRIM: Josh Sheridan; Oran Foley; Killian Mulvey; Luke Farrell; Peter Moran; Kyle Russell(1-0); Bailey McBride; Luke Fitzsimons; Cormac Moran; Gavin Gallagher(1-0); Senan Bohan(1-2); Sean Carolan Morris(0-2); Joey McBrien(1-1); Jack Kelly(0-4); Ruairi O’Rourke(2-8); Subs: Oisin Conlon(0-1); James Hughes; Tadhg Regan; Bobby Hanrahan; Aodh Gavin; Kevin Faughnan; Daire Shannon; Ben Harte.