Leitrim barely grabbed a draw against Monaghan in Clones after Scóring three unanswered points in the last five minutes. The game lacked a competitive edge, because both sides were unable to make the play-offs.

Monaghan took the lead for the first time late in the first half and led 0-5 to 0-4 at half-time. As has so often been the case recently, Michael Foley accounted for all four of Leitrim’s first-half points – with three coming from frees.

Monaghan added another two points soon after the break, but couldn’t add another until the 60th minute. Both teams squandered chances, but Leitrim stuck with it and got a deserved draw when Seamus Quinn, JohnÓgoldrick and Michael Foley scored late points to level the match.

Monaghan: P. McElroy, D. McDermott, J. Coyle, Ed. Lennon, D. Duffy, F. Doogan, J.P. Mone, Eo. Lennon (0-1), J. Hughes, N. Corrigan, P. Finlay (0-4), D. Clerkin, T. Freeman (0-1), R. RonÓghan, D. Freeman (0-2). Subs: D. McArdle for J. Hughes, S. McManus for R. RonÓghan, K. Tavey for N. Corrigan, S. McGeough for F. Doogan, C. Flanagan for J.P. Mone.

Leitrim: G. Phelan, D. Reynolds, M. McGuinness, B. Prior, M. Greene, J. McKeon, D. Kennedy, C. Carroll, D. Maxwell, D. Lynch, P. Farrell, J. Goldrick (0-5), J. Glancy, J. Guckian, M. Foley (0-5). Subs: S. Quinn (0-1) for J. Guckian, N. Doonan for D. Lynch, P. McGuinness for J. Glancy.



22-Mar-04 by Paddy Reilly

Leitrim were on the wrong end of a thrashing on Sunday in Carrick-on-Shannon when midlanders Offaly were the visitors. Backed by a strong breeze, Offaly opened the Scóring and had five points on the board after ten minutes without a response from the home side. Leitrim battled back before half-time and trailed 0-3 to 0-7 at the break.

However, playing into the breeze in the second half, the visitors adapted their style of play to a short passing game and continued on their rampage. A goal from Roy Malone midway through the second half finally killed off the Leitrim challenge. An injury-time goal from Alan Mulhall completed the rout for Offaly, who now lie second behind Donegal in the Division 2A table, while Leitrim drop to sixth. The final score was 2-10 to 0-04.

Leitrim: G. Phelan, D. Reynolds, J. McKeon, M. McGuinness, M. Greene, N. Kilbane, B. Prior, C. Carroll, P. Farrell (0-1), B. Brennan, D. Lynch, N. Doonan, J. McGuinness, S. Quinn, M. Foley (0-3, 2f). Subs: C. Regan for B. Brennan, J. Guckian for P. Farrell, P. McGarry for N. Doonan.

Offaly: C. McNamara, S. Sullivan, C. Evans, S. Brady, B. Mooney (0-2), C. Daly, K. Slattery (0-1), C. McManus (0-2), A. McNamee, R. Malone (1-0), P. Kellaghan (0-1), C. Farrell (0-1), J. O’Neill (0-1), N. McNamee (0-1), J. Reynolds (0-1). Subs: J. Hurst for S. Sullivan, C. Quinn for A. McNamee, A. Mulhall (1-0) for C. Farrell, R. Guinan for J. O’Neill, B. Malone for K. Slattery.



15-Mar-04 by Paddy Reilly

Last Monday’s Masonite Senior Football Championship draw has thrown some up some exciting groups, with some teams receiving a significantly more difficult path to the Championship final.

Champions St. Mary’s will be hoping to qualify from Group 4, most likely along with Allen Gaels and ahead of last year’s Senior B winners, Sean O’Heslin’s. Carrigallen will feel that they could cause an upset, but Glenfarne/Kiltyclogher will really struggle to make an impact.

2003 Runners-up St. Caillin’s make their way through to the quarter-finals from Group 1 along with 1999 Champions Glencar/Manorhamilton, with Ballinaglera, Annaduff and Cloone hoping for a shock victory against one of the big two to squeeze through.

Group 2 is arguably the weakest group, with Bornacoola, Aughawillan, Mohill, Kiltubrid and Drumkeerin all in with a fair chance of making it the quarter-finals, where they’ll meet the qualifiers from Group 1.

However, Group 3 will be the Group of Death with Melvin Gaels and Aughavas, Champions from 1998 and 2000 respectively, being thrown in alongside perennial contenders Gortletteragh and League Champions Drumreilly. Indeed, this is third year in a row that Gortletteragh will face Drumreilly. Adding to the tension, Aughavas Manager PJ Carroll was in charge of Gortletteragh last year! One really has to feel sorry for Aughnasheelin who finished pointless at the bottom of their Championship group last year before finishing bottom of Division 1A.

To add to the difficulties on the latter side of the draw, the winners and runners-up of Group 3 and Group 4 will face each other in the quarter-finals. Certainly, any team on this side of the draw will would be deserved Champions should they be lifting the silverware next autumn.

Full details of the draw are available on the Championship section. Dates for al games will be announced shortly.



28-Feb-04 by Paddy Reilly

Declan Rowley has left one vacancy in the Leitrim team to face Clare in Ennis on Sunday. Seamus Quinn moves to midfield, Colin Regan moves back to defence and Donal Brennan returns at left corner-forward. There’s one vacancy at right-half forward.

Team: G. Phelan, M. McGuinness, J. McKeon, D. Reynolds, B. Prior, N. Gilbane, C. Regan, C. Carroll, S. Quinn, AN Other, P. Farrell, J. Guckian, M. Foley, S. Canning, D. Brennan.



13-Feb-04 by Paddy Reilly

Leitrim suffered their first loss in the 2004 NFL campaign in Cloone on Sunday last, with neighbours Donegal leaving with the points. Donegal forwards Adrian Sweeney and Brendan Devenney wreaked havoc on Leitrim’s defence, Scóring 2-6 of Donegal’s tally between them. Leitrim were holding out well until two second half goals in as many minutes effectively ended the contest.

Early in the second half, Leitrim shocked the visitors with a bizarre Michael Foley goal after a mistake by Donegal goalkeeper Tony Blake to trail by only a point with 40 minutes played.

However, Donegal’s superior quality shone through in the end with goals coming after 53 and 55 minutes, followed by a hat-trick of points to kill off the weak Leitrim challenge.

G. Phelan, M. McGuinness, J. McKeon, D. Reynolds, N. Gilbane, S. Quinn, B. Prior, S. Canning, C. Carroll, C. Regan, P. Farrell (0-1), M. Foley (1-4), J. McGuinness, F. McBrien, J. Guckian. Subs: J. Goldrick for F. McBrien, N. Doonan for J. McGuinness, M. Greene for N. Gilbane, D. Kennedy for P. Farrell.

Donegal: T. Blake, N. McCready, R. Sweeney, E. McGee, S. Carr, B. Monaghan, K. Cassidy, P. McGonÓgal (0-1), B. Boyle, B. McLoughlin, M. Hegarty (0-1), B. Roper, J. McCafferty, A. Sweeney (1-2), B. Devenney (1-4). Subs: C. Toye for B. McLoughlin, C. McFadden for J. McCafferty, J. Gildea for B. Boyle, J. Haran (0-1) for B. Roper, B. Dunnion for N. McCready.



09-Feb-04 by Paddy Reilly