Leitrim Handball news

Connacht Minor Title For Leitrim

Fenaghs Shane Doonan and Donal Wrynn took the Connacht 40×20 Minor Doubles title on Sunday last in St Comans Roscommon when they defeated Galways Eanna Kelehan and Conor Noone on a score line of 21-6, 21-10. As the score suggests the Fenagh duo were in complete control with the Galway pair no match for the strength and skill of the Leitrim men. This win secured Donals second Connacht Minor Title having won the Connacht Minor 40×20 Singles title 2 weeks ago. The Leitrim pair now meet the Ulster Champions in the All-Ireland semi-final on March 10th.

Cuman na mBun Scoil Finals

The Leitrim Cuman na mBun Scoil 40×20 Finals were played in Drumshanbo on Sunday with St Caillains NS Fenagh and St Patricks NS Drumshanbo taking part in The Boys u11 section. Fenagh St Caillains emerged victorious with Cormac Scollan defeating Fergal Moran 15-7, 15-7 and Eoin McLoughlin and Fergal McLoughlin defeating Ciaran McMorrow and Gareth Gilmartin 15-2, 15-3. They join Robert Maguire u13, Oisin McLoughlin and David Wrynn u13D, Paula Gallagher u11 and Elizabeth Honeyman u13 in The Connacht Finals in Roscommon on February 25th.

Leitrim Handball Board AGM

At the recent AGM the following officers were elected:

Chairman: Jamie Murray, Vice Chairman John Joe Byrne

Secretary: Joel Smith, Ass Secretary: Mary Shanley.

Treasurer: Stephen Wrynn, Ass Treasurer: Martin Logan

PRO:Niall Scollan, Pat Wrynn.

Our out-going Chairman Peter Heaney was not up for re-election as he is now Connacht Council Chairman. This is the first Leitrim Handball Board without Peters involvement since it was established and without his drive and vision handball would be non existent in Leitrim. We wish him well in his new role.

National Congress

Leitrim is hosting this years congress on March 18th in The Landmark Hotel.



13-Feb-12 by Niall Scollan – Handball PRO