[b]Scol?ireachta? Gaeltachta[/b]

There were a large number of applicants for the Leitrim Co. Board GAA Gaeltacht Scholarships and a very high standard among the youngsters who attended for interview. Indeed if there were twice as many scholarships there would have been enough worthy candidates.

The successful candidates were:

Stiof?n Mac Tadhg. Droim M?r, B?al an ?tha M?ir

Cl?r Kilcrann, Corlaskagh, Coill na gCros, Cora Droma R?isc

Maeve Canning, Mullaghbrack, Maothail

Caoimh?n ? Riag?in, Sr?idbhaile Liatroma, Cora Droma R?isc

Bu?ochas do na buachaill? agus na cail?n? go l?ir a chuir isteach ar na scol?ireachta? agus comhghairdeas do na Buaiteoir?.

[b]Seachtain na Gaeilge Quiz[/b]

Leitrim representatives, Bornacoola, [b]won[/b] the Connacht Finals of the Seachtain na Gaeilge Quiz which was held in Roscommon last Wednesday. They now go on to the All Ireland Finals, which will be held in Croke Park on St Patrick?s Day.

[b]Two teams from each province qualify for the All Ireland finals but this is the first time in the three-year period since the quiz started that a Leitrim team got out of Connacht.[/b]

The Bornacoola team that won the Connacht Final was made up of Aidan Dockery, Liam Rabbitte, Evelyn Reynolds and Marie Therese Dockery. Two of the team that won the Leitrim final, Cyril Staunton and Padraig Duffy, were not available for the Connacht Final and were replaced by Aidan Dockery and Evelyn Reynolds. Indeed Bornacoola will have difficulty in picking their team for the All Ireland Finals.

Comhghairdeas do Bharr na Cuile ar a mbua agus go n-?ir? leo i gCraobh na h?ireann ar L? ?L? P?draig



03-Mar-06 by Brendan Doyle –

Sean O Heslins win All Ireland Title in Novelty



20-Feb-06 by Brendan Doyle – PRO

Connacht Success for Fenagh and Sean O Heslins in Scór na nÓg Finals

In the Rince Seit (Set Dancing) St. Caillins won their fourth Connacht Title in a row. Representing Fenagh were Catriona Doonan, Fergal Ellis, Janette Leydon, Shane and Duirmuid McHugh, Adeline and Seamus McWeeney.

Sean O Heslins last Connacht win in Nuchleas (Novelty Act) was 2001 and that year they went on to win an All Ireland Title. This year they now hold the Connacht title again and who knows what else is to come. Representing Sean O Heslins were Michael Costello, David Leydon, Rowena O Rourke, Niall Hughes, Catherine Smith, Lisa Duignan and Claire Fanning.

Leitrim were well represented in other categories and all competitors gave their very best on the day.

To the two winning Clubs, we wish them the best of luck in the All Ireland Finals which take place in Athlone on Saturday Feb 18th at 3pm. Anyone wishing to attend must book tickets immediately as the closing date is Wednesday Feb 1st

Fenagh and Sean O Heslins must order their tickets through their respective Scór na nÓg Officers. Anyone else who wishes to travel can contact Sean Osuilleabhain (071) 9644227 or Maire Ni Mhaoilbhlia (087) 6486967.
– Please note that tickets must be paid for at time of ordering –



25-Jan-06 by Brendan Doyle

A very successful Scór na nÓg Final was held last Sunday in Ballinamore Community Centre where 17 out of a possible 24 clubs competed.

Many fitting tributes were paid to the former Chairperson, the late Cormac MacGiolla and a new award was introduced in his honour. The Cormac McGill Shield was awarded to the Scór Club of the Year and Drumreilly GAA were the inaugural winners.

The 8 competition winners were as follows:

1. Rince Foirne (Figure Dancing) – Sean O Heslins
2. Amhr?na?ocht Aonair (Solo Singing) – Aughnasheelin (Aisling Sammon)
3. Ceol Uirlise (Instrumental Music) – Aughnasheelin
4. Aithriseoireacht (Recitation) – Sinead McAuley
5. Bailead Ghr?pa (Balad Group) – St. Marys
6. Tr?th na gCeist (Question Time) – St. Caillians
7. Nuachleas (Novelty Act) – Sean O Heslins
8. Rince Seit (Set Dancing) – St. Caillians

Scór Meeting:
An important meeting for all Scór Officers will be held in the Bush Hotel, Carrick-on-Shannon, on Monday night January 16th at 8pm.

Scór Sinsear:
Scór Sinsear is just around the corner and will be taking place on 24th and 25th of February – so get practising !



13-Jan-06 by Brendan Doyle

Ballinamore Community Centre hosts the Co Finals of Leitrim Scór na nÓg on Sunday next 8 January, starting at 3.00pm. It will be a great evening?s entertainment as the very best of singing, music, dancing and other entertainment is put on stage.

The following are the clubs taking part in the various events:

Rince Foirne: Dromahair, Carrigallen Hurling, Sean
O?Heslins, Drumreilly

Amhrana?ocht: Mohill, Eslin, Ballinaglera, Sean O?Heslins,
Aughnasheelin Ladies

Ceol: Dromahair, St Mary?s, Aughavas, Aughnasheelin Ladies

Aithriseoireacht: Ballinaglera, Carrigallen Hurling, Aughavas,
Bornacoola, Carrigallen

Bail?ad Ghr?pa: St Mary?s, Eslin, Sean O?Heslins,
Aughnasheelin Ladies.

Tr?th na gCeist: Glencar/Manorhamilton, Fenagh Ladies. Sean
O?Heslins, Kiltubrid.

Nuachleas: Sean O?Heslin?s, Aughnasheelin, Kiltubrid,

Rince Foirne: Fenagh, Sean O?Heslins, Aughnasheelin,



06-Jan-06 by Sean O Suilleabhain

Congratulations to Fenagh/St Caillins on their excellent win in the novely act on Saturday night last in Killarney. Big celebrations starting tonight as the winning team arrive back in Leitrim.

Well done to the 3 other Leitrim clubs: Aughnasheelin, Dromahaire and Glencar Manor who represented Connight in the bail?ad Ghr?pa, ceol uirlise, Rince Foirne sections.



18-Apr-05 by

Four Clubs from Leitrim will contest the All Ireland Senior Scór finals next weekend after a very recent memorable night for Leitrim people in St. Brigid?s Hall in Tubbercurry. Leitrim won half of the events with four victories out of eight in the Connacht Scór Finals.

The winning Clubs are Aughnasheelin, Fenagh/St Caillins, Dromahaire and Glencar Manor and they travel to Killarney to compete in the bail?ad Ghr?pa, nuachleas, ceol uirlise, Rince Foirne sections respectively.

We would like to wish each an every club the very best of luck in their respective sections.



12-Apr-05 by

The County Finals of Scór brought a huge crowd to Cloone on Saturday last who were highly entertained during a night of high drama in the various events. The winners (highlighted in italics) go on to represent Leitrim in the Connacht Finals in Ballinamore on Saturday evening next.

Figure Dancing
St. Mary’s

Solo Singing
Sean O’Heslin’s (Elaine Duignan)
St. Mary’s

Glencar/Manorhamilton (no opposition)

Bornacoola (Aidan Dockery)

Ballad Group
St. Mary’s

Question Time
Sean O’Heslin’s
St. Mary’s

Novelty Act
Sean O’Heslin’s

Set Dance
Glencar/ Manorhamilton

Club of the Year
Fenagh & Aughnasheelin (shared)



30-Mar-04 by Paddy Reilly